Poplar Jake arrived on the British Blues scene in 2010, sweating over a beaten resonator or a well-used 12-string when most others were invoking the ghost of Stevie Ray. His first release, the EP Ridin' The Blinds (2011) paid fitting tribute to his mentors, but contained no original songs. Nevertheless, the response was encouraging, and Jake rectified the situation with the release of From The Delta To The Docks (2013). This album received plenty of airplay and established Jake as a credible songwriter as well as an inspired performer. 

Following the success of the Delta album, Jake formed The Electric Delta Review with Dan Collins (harmonica) Dave Sims (drums) and The Duchess (bass). This line-up recorded the single No More Signifyin' (2014), plus two full-length albums, See What You Done (2015) and Hands On (2017), both of which were awarded Album Of The Week by the Independent Blues Broadcasters' Association, and both reaching the Top 3 of the IBBA Blues Chart in their respective year of release. 

In early 2018, drummer Dave Sims left and was replaced by Phil Tait (ex-Built For Comfort), and the band adopted the simpler name of the Poplar Jake Band. Sadly, this line up never got to play live, as Jake was stricken with ill-health and was unable to perform. There was great support for Jake from the UK blues community, and when 'Coldest Of Blues' was released on Reverbnation in 2019 the song received a lot of attention and showed up on the IBBA Chart. Although Jake later recovered to the point where he could consider live performance again, the advent of COVID-19 put paid to any such plans.

As, at the time of writing, the end of UK Lockdown seems in sight, Jake, along with a great many others, looks forward to picking up where he left off.